Skip to content

The Story: Life Can be a Roller Coaster

October 4, 2015
Prevenient Grace

Prevenient Grace

Location: New Age Psychic

During my recent “Walk to Emmaus” I learned about “prevenient grace”. Prevenient grace is God’s grace that works in our lives well before we are even aware of it. In most cases, we will NEVER become aware of it and accept it as “fate” or “coincidences.” Prevenient grace is “divine grace that precedes human decision. It exists prior to and without reference to anything humans may have done.”

Joseph was sold into slavery by his brothers and also spent time in jail for something he did not do. Take a moment to think about unexplainable things that happened in your life. Oftentimes when we feel that things are falling apart, they are actually falling into place. “How do you know it’s bad?” is a question I often ask myself when something happens that I did not plan and most certainly did not like. Accepting an uncertain future is hard for many people (I am one of them). We are eager to find out what is going to happen to us, so that we can bend these events in our favor. Fortune tellers, psychics, hand readers, Tarot readers, crystal balls… But when I go back to many of the “bad things” that happened in my life, I am so fortunate they happened. At the time they happened, I would have stopped many of them if I could. But because they happened, I am now exactly where I am supposed to be, doing what I am supposed to do. I still have free will; I do not believe I am a puppet on a string playing out a part that has been decided for me on my behalf. But I clearly see the open doors that I could choose to walk through. Doors that opened in what used to be walls. Putting doors into those walls was often messy and sometimes painful. But God’s grace prepared the way for me, and He was with me every step of the way.

Now why would Joseph know the future? He was able to interpret Pharaoh’s dreams and take action to prevent disaster. I believe it was the same reason that Noah knew what was going to happen: IT WAS NOT ABOUT THEM! When we are desperate to find out what the future holds in store, IT IS TYPICALLY ABOUT US! I believe that God helps us as His people by revealing part of the upper story to us. But our personal story is ours to find out and experience.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2015 2:33 PM

    Thank you so much, Phil, for so clearly explaining this and inviting me to see things differently. I will keep this.

Leave a Reply

