Skip to content

Loving Relationships

May 1, 2014
by

We are starting a new series on Loving Relationships. Some of the key themes we will be exploring come from Dr. John Townsend’s book, Loving People: How to Love and Be Loved. We hope you enjoy the visual supplement as we share the journey.

Here is our introductory picture:

Theme: Loving People

Location: This picture is taken at Richmond Beach Salt Water Park

  • Crossing the Bridge Together

    Crossing the Bridge Together

    There are many types of loving relationships: parent/child, husband/wife, brother/sister, friends, niece/nephew/cousin/other family, people who have gone through a traumatic experience together (disease, disaster, addiction, loss, etc.) and many combinations thereof. How would you characterize your relationships in each of these settings? What type of relationship do we have with God? And what type of relationship do we believe God has with us?

  • When asked, many people define a loving relationship as measured by what they receive from that relationship: “I love my wife because she cooks for me, cares for me, is respectful, attentive, etc.” What would it take for us to define a loving relationship by what we contribute?
  • When a relationship does not “feel right”, we often look at the other people in the relationship to make changes; “Our marriage would be better if only my husband would…”, “I could be a better parent if only my child would…”, “I could be a better son if only my dad would…” But how often do we point at ourselves, and realize “If I want to have a better marriage, I have to be a better husband”, “If I want to have a better child, I have to be a better parent”…

Photo and Text by Marcel Eisma

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

