Skip to content

Soul Power

February 14, 2014
by

Phone ChargerI was leaving for a three day trip. As I got near the airport, I suddenly realized that I had forgotten the charger for my cell phone. No time to return home, I grabbed my 12 volt adapter and headed into the terminal. I might normally just go until my phone ran out of power, but on this trip, I was going to be meeting Melissa in the airport terminal when we returned. I had to have some battery left when I got back to Seattle.

I nursed my battery through the weekend. I turned my phone off every opportunity I had. I only turned it on to check for messages. Every time I got in someone’s car, I asked if I could please plug in my phone charger. By the end of the weekend, I felt like a battery junky looking for my next fix.

I thought about my spiritual life. If I am content to live partially charged, I live my life hoping I can connect often enough to have the power I need for the day. I live in fear; not fullness. I run the risk of not having the power I need for an unexpected circumstance. I asked myself, “Am I content to have just enough charge to accomplish the task of the hour, or do I keep a full charge in my soul?”

God’s design is for people to live life fully charged without any fear of a lack of power. The great news is that we don’t need a special charger, just an open heart.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna Assink Peterson permalink
    February 14, 2014 3:57 PM

    I like this thought…even when we are weak God seems to have the backup plan that could pull us through to a higher level of relationship.

Leave a Reply

