Skip to content

The Lord Looks at the Heart

September 30, 2013

I am a big believer in springboard conversations with kids. My kids have taught me that having meaningful conversations during our commute is valuable. Today, my heart danced as my daughter and I engaged in such a conversation. It was a learning lesson for both of us. I thought I’d share…

picture courtesy of Rachael

picture courtesy of Rachael

My daughter decided she wanted marinara sauce on her spaghetti tonight. She never wants marinara sauce – only noodles and cheese. On the way to gymnastics, she launched into dialogue about the fact that she used to like only noodles without the sauce because the sauce didn’t look good and she only wanted to try food that looked good (I don’t blame her!). She has since changed her mind.
She asked if I remembered a cupcake store in Coupeville that had really fancy cupcakes. They were beautiful and we couldn’t help but to buy a few. To our disappointment, almost all of our cupcakes ended up in the trash. They didn’t taste good at all. She then reminded me that the cupcakes we get from a retailer in Edmonds are delicious, but not super fancy. In fact, they are very simple. But, oh, are they good!
I decided this was a good springboard opportunity. I told her the cupcakes reminded me of people – we have a tendency to want to look good for others, but that doesn’t mean that our hearts are good. I explained that we have a tendency to judge people by their outward appearances instead of looking at the inside, when it’s the inside that matters. We are a society that places high importance on the way people dress, what they wear, what cars they drive, and how large their homes are. When what we should be looking at is the heart ~ what that person is made of on the inside. And, we need to ensure that our own hearts are well.
My daughter looked at me and said, “Mom, isn’t there scripture that says that people look at the outside but that God looks at the heart.” My heart melted. She not only understood, but she remembered 1 Samuel 16:7, “… The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”


The rest of our discussion centered around how important it is to hold scripture in our hearts so that we can not only recall it, but we can apply it to everyday situations.
Today we both learned something. Rachael was able to apply scripture and was reminded of the importance of looking at the inside versus outward appearance. I learned that each and every situation can be used as a learning opportunity and never to underestimate a young child.
What happened today that you could use as a springboard conversation with your child. If our eyes are wide open, the possibilities are endless!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2013 10:18 AM

    This is so awesome April!

    • april haberman permalink
      September 30, 2013 5:35 PM

      Thank you, Carole. It’s so nice to be given little opportunities to share with our kids. What a gift!

Leave a Reply

