Skip to content

Blessings in Disguise

August 19, 2013

aidorondack chairMy family and I recently took a trip to a fishing lodge off of Malcolm Island, B.C. It’s a beautiful location and we were excited to return for our second year. The first day brought sunshine, fun fishing, wildlife and anticipation for the next day.
To my disappointment, I awoke with a stomach bug. As hard as I tried to fight against it, the stomach bug won. I ended up in bed for the next few days wishing I could click my heels and go home. At the end of the second day, I felt good enough to make my way out of our cabin. The sun was just beginning to break through the fog that had kept the island socked in for the day. I ordered up a hot bowl of chicken broth and made my way to the Adirondack chair. I closed my eyes. What an amazing gift I received…
God’s little blessings were given to me in those next few moments. I heard – children’s laughter as they played, birds singing in the trees, watering lapping upon the shore, boat horns blowing as they arrived on the dock, cheers from the group as they celebrated the big catch of the day, alpaca’s rolling in the dirt. I felt – the warm sun upon my face, the warmth of the broth soothing my body, a gentle breeze brush my face, a kiss on my cheek from my little one. I saw – the beautiful mountains and ocean, smiles on faces, hugs from families as they welcomed one another, my husband and son walking up the hill from a day spent together fishing, father and son sharing life.
And, in that moment, I knew. I knew that these were the small things that we miss if we don’t stop to see them. These special moments in life that can go unnoticed if we’re too busy doing. These are God’s fingerprints upon our lives – gifts given to us that can either slip by us or simply take our breath away.
There are blessings in every situation. For me, I had to stop and slow down enough to see: to see deeply and to thank deeply. This allowed me to feel joy deeply. How we decide to use our eyes to see is how we gain perspective. If we choose to see God’s presence in all things, He fills us. Our hearts are opened and we overflow with thanksgiving and with joy. It’s through our eyes that we experience Him fully and enter His gates. “Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.” Psalm 100:4.

What will you choose to see today? Take the time to close your eyes and listen, to feel. Find a few things that may have gone unnoticed and give thanks to the Lord for those small blessings.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Assink Peterson permalink
    August 19, 2013 8:20 PM

    Thank you, April, for your encouragement to take time to ‘smell the roses.’ A friend at church here just learned today that a recent surgery revealed cancer. I thank God that she is such a beautiful Christian knowing that she will make the journey ahead with God in her heart and life. I’m sharing your devotion with her.

    • april haberman permalink
      August 20, 2013 7:16 AM

      I am sorry to hear about your friend, Anna. I hope this brings a bit of comfort and inspires hope. I can’t imagine that battle, yet know that He gives blessings in each day and in each moment.

Leave a Reply

