Skip to content

The Greatest Story

August 6, 2012

Our family recently spent some time off of Malcolm Island, just off of North Vancouver Island in British Columbia. Fishing has never been something I have had a desire to do, especially considering the early morning wake up calls. But this was different. This was a family trip and I was determined to make good memories with my children.

We headed out on the fishing boats the first afternoon we arrived. The sun was out, the mountains looked spectacular and we quickly realized that the fishing wasn’t the only reason why we needed to get out on the water. Within a half hour we spotted a humpback whale. Within a few hours, we saw a pod of orcas and sprinkled within that time were dolphins and bald eagles. The same thing happened the next day and we marveled at a humpback that entertained us for hours as it breached, splashed and played in the water. By the end of the day, we had lost count of the number of whales we had seen.

I asked our fishing guide if he ever began to take them for granted. With a huge smile on his face, he quietly answered with a simple “No, not when they breech.” I’ve thought a lot about that conversation and it has stayed on my heart. I was so full of excitement and wonder watching those whales. They are such beautiful creatures and we don’t often receive the blessing of seeing them in their natural habitat. Yet, I wondered if I would think less of them if I had the opportunity to see them on a regular basis? I wondered if I would need them to do something spectacular to bring that sense of excitement again?

I experienced God’s awesomeness as it surrounded me last week. I took in His beauty and allowed it to fill me and I was awestruck by His magnificent work and creativity. That being said, the same thought played over and over in my head. Do we become complacent with the most remarkable story? Do we take His story for granted? I know I do.

God loves us simply because He can. He loves us so much He gave us His one and only Son who died for us. By His grace we are saved and we are given eternal life. Those words can fall from our tongues so quickly and through much repetition. Can we become complacent with His amazing grace and mercy? WHAT? The very thought of that stirs my soul. There is nothing more wonderful than experiencing God’s love and having your cup overflow with grace. This story abounds with His love, it saves us from our sin. It brings comfort, joy, strength, peace, courage, hope, wisdom, forgiveness… How great is our God? Greater than words can express. I am reminded that I don’t have to wait for something spectacular. The story and truth is spectacular in and of itself. I yearn to rest in that same wonder each and every day with my Lord. I never want to take for granted the most beautiful gift I have been given. Instead, may I come to Him with a renewed spirit and one of praise and worship.

As Max Lucado writes, “You have a God who hears you, the power of love behind you, the Holy Spirit within you, and all of heaven ahead of you.” That’s something I yearn to experience every day as my Guide helps me navigate life. I will remain in His presence and the wonder of each new day…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

