Skip to content

Asking Dad

May 7, 2012
by

Our son, Jonathan, recently got a different car. One of the upgrades he wanted was blue tooth capability in the stereo. He found a deal on a stereo and set out to change the unit. Nearing the completion of the project, he came in the house to ask about what tools I might have to help accomplish the task.

I went out and surveyed the situation with him. After some time (not that long considering we didn’t have any directions), we discovered the steps necessary to complete the installation. Then, it was time to set up the blue tooth connection.  I left because I am of no use in this area!

I did not have stereo replacement on my calendar for that evening. However, it was an irresistible challenge to embark upon. We were able to finish with a real sense of a shared accomplishment. Did I feel presumed upon by his request? Did I resent him impinging on my time? Hardly! I would more say I was delighted to be asked (and grateful in the end I could actually help a little).

Prayer is often asking our Father for help. Does He resent our interruption? Does He feel presumed upon by our request? Hardly! In fact, God is waiting for us to ‘call’. We get so busy trying to live life on our own, we forget the very Resource that will help us make it through.

The next time you face a challenge or concern, why not ask dear old Dad? In The Message, Eugene Peterson shares this thought: God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us (Ephesians 3:20).

God can do anything, but you won’t know until you ask.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 8:18 PM

    Great analogy that really makes the point. I share your fondness for Eugene Peterson as well.

Leave a Reply

