Skip to content

Protecting Personal Information

March 12, 2012
by

“We are from the bank and we would like to verify some information. Would you please confirm your address?” This is roughly how the phone call began. I’ve watched enough TV that I know how people try to scam you so they can get personal information. I was not going to fall for this. I boldly shot back, “Why would I give you any personal information? I didn’t ask you to call me.” After a brief verbal sparring match, the gentleman gave me a number and encouraged me to call back. I hung up determined NOT to call back.

Why would I call back? I’ve heard of people calling bogus numbers and getting sucked into naively giving up inappropriate information. Over the next two days, we received four more calls from the same number. I was feeling stalked, so I answered the phone again. The same conversation ensued, but something changed in the exchange and I agreed to talk further.

I don’t remember if the caller identified herself as the bank or a collection agency, but I soon found out that for the first time in nearly 30 years, we had missed a mortgage payment. I had set up automatic payments for a year and this was now month 13. OOPS! As you can imagine, my tone changed rather quickly. I went from an annoyed, “Why are you bothering me?” to an apologetic, “I’m sorry and I’ll take care of that right away!”

Has God ever tried to get your attention but you were personally convinced that he was stalking you? Pride can lead us to respond rather arrogantly. When I thought I knew more than the caller, I was curt and blunt. Once I realize the caller knew something that was very important to me, I was eager to listen!

God tries to speak to us in many ways. If we cling to our prejudices, we may hang up on him. If we give him half a chance, he has a personal message that will change our life! I have an alert set for 12 months from now. What are you doing to make sure you don’t miss your next Call?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 10:04 AM

    Isn’t it funny how our attitude changes when we answer and we discover it is a ?Business Call? I need to remember this is their job and don’t deserve to be treated rudly ( I don’t always remember that especially at dinner or bed time!)

Leave a Reply

