Skip to content

“Technically”, a Glimpse of Heaven

February 27, 2012
by

Last week, I left you with images of a tired shoulder and discouraged spirit. From all indications, my laptop had died. To be honest, it was showing signs of aging. A crash here and a frozen screen there, but still, it produced what I needed and when I needed it. I was in denial and putting off the inevitable.

When I returned home, I determined to carry my trusty companion on one more trip. On Monday morning, I dropped it on the docking port and armed with a boot disk, I hit the power button. I saw a brief glimpse of life that encouraged me enough to try a couple more boot sequences. Wa lah! We have boot up.

As trivial as it is, I experienced a moment of joy and relief. The lost was found. The dead had come to life again.

I did not allow myself too much time to take in the beauty of the windows desktop (never imagined myself saying that). One thought immediately took complete control of my mind and actions – BACK UP!! Quicker than you can say, “Hallelujah,” I had a USB drive hooked up and I was saving any potentially unsaved files. Having completed the back up, I allowed myself a moment to breathe a sigh of relief and have a moment to be grateful to have avoided any disaster.

Hope is a wonderful thing. For three days, I had wondered if there was any hope for my computer. When the machine sprang to life, I experienced a trifling but real reward. What I had hoped for happened.

Eternity is far more significant than technology, but for a moment, technology gave me a little glimpse of what joy there will be in eternity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

