Skip to content

A Bad Vaccine

November 28, 2011
by

This is the season. The season to get your flu shot. The principle upon which this practice works is interesting. A person takes a few dead cells of a disease into his/her body and then our bodies form their own natural defense against a full blown attack by flu germs.

While this may be great medicine, it is awful theology. We all need to be careful. In our faith, we may have a little spiritual experience. We attend a retreat, we go to church occasionally, or we read an inspirational book. Let’s assume these all make us feel closer to God. Unfortunately, they can also make us feel like we have had ‘enough’ religion.

However, if we take in a little faith and assume it is enough for a season or a life-time, we are hardly engaged in the kind of dynamic relationship God wants with us. I, for one, do not want to get a faith vaccine. An inoculation of faith would give me the smallest dose of Jesus to protect me from Him. I want to be infected with a belief that invades every aspect of my life. If I’ve been inoculated, I tend to stop thinking about it. If I have been infected, I am constantly aware. I would be delighted to make it through the winter without the flu. I don’t want to spend a day without Jesus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

