Skip to content

The Sky is Falling

May 16, 2011
by

I heard recently on the radio that a group has determined that Jesus is coming back on May 21, 2011 and the world as we know it will end on October 21 of this year. I know that is not true. The reason I am so sure is that May 21 is a Saturday and God would not make us work all week, earn a big pay check, and not let us come to church with our tithe on Sunday! 

Besides that, I am skeptical of anyone who says they know the day when the world will end, especially those who use the Bible for their source. One simple verse in the Bible that trumps all the complex verses these people have so carefully studied. Jesus said he doesn’t know (No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. Mark 13:32). Are these people smarter than Jesus? 

The other item in the Bible that makes me doubt the claim is in Deuteronomy 18:20, “If a prophet says something I (God) did not tell him to say as though he were speaking for me, or if a prophet speaks in the name of other gods, that prophet must be killed.” If the leaders of this group were willing to die for their cause if May 22 comes and they are still here, it might lend a little more credibility to their claim. I bet they will be like the many who keep writing books about the late great planet earth even when they miss the date. Of course, God could speak at midnight on May 21 and move the day…

I’d love to share more, but I have a big check to write for Sunday. I want Jesus to know, if he comes back on Saturday, that I was prepared to be very generous this week. If he doesn’t come back, I’ll just tear up the check, put the usual in the offering, and get on with life. I know we can’t know in advance if May 21 will be the end of the world, but that’s no reason not to play it safe…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna Assink permalink
    May 16, 2011 2:32 PM

    Wait a minute! What do you mean ‘tear up the check?’ Is God going to let you get by with that screen? Play ball!

Leave a Reply

