Skip to content

A Symbol of the Covenants

March 28, 2011
by

A lot has changed since Melissa and I got married 30 years ago. On our wedding day, Melissa placed a ring on my finger “as a symbol of the covenant made this day between us.” One of the small changes in my life is in the size of the ring finger on my left hand. A few years back, this small change became so significant I decided to have my ring resized (read – enlarged). When this happened, we were watching our budget closely and for a whole lot less money, I could have the ring made slightly larger and not have the edging embossed on the new section. It wouldn’t exactly match, but in all these years, no one has noticed. At least no one has pointed it out!

Recently, I met a jeweler and curiosity got the best of me, “I wonder if my ring could be ‘fixed’?” So I gave my ring to my jeweler friend and asked for a professional opinion. 

One day later, we met and my friend handed me a little plastic bag with a ring wrapped in tissue paper. I was almost expecting a post mortem report. This was not the most expensive ring in history. I slowly unwrapped the paper and was awestruck by what my friend produced. Initially, I actually thought it might be a whole new ring. It glistened. The edging matched perfectly all the way around on both sides of the band. I was momentarily speechless.  I thanked her and then she told me the work was a gift!

That day, my friend reminded me of a very special promise. The years had scarred and tarnished the original luster the ring had when Melissa first placed it on my finger. My friend had not only edged my ring, she also polished and buffed it. The scars and marks were removed and the original shine restored. Life bangs and bruises our spirit. We get tarnished and lose our luster. If we don’t take time to let God restore our souls, we can slowly and unceremoniously become tarnished. The Apostle Paul wrote, “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has past away; everything has become new.”  What a gift!

As Easter approaches, you may be feeling old and tarnished. Easter is God’s great reminder that He can make us ‘good as new.’ Now, my ring is not only a reminder of the sacred covenant I have with Melissa. It also reminds me of the transforming covenant I have with Jesus. What a gift!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

