Skip to content

Wireless Connections

February 28, 2011
by

            When I come into my office, I am prone to turn on my laptop and start to check my email. However, if I start too soon, the wireless adapter is not yet connected to the router and I get an error message. I have had days where this technological conflict rages all day. I try periodically to check my email and I get the error message again. However, when I wait first for the computer to detect the signal, it works seamlessly throughout the day. 

            I tend to live my life that way as well. I launch into a project and then realize that God would very much like to be a part of it. I stop and ask (he is more gracious than my computer) and he responds to where I am.

            However, he does not undo history. If I choose to live by my way and wisdom, he does not shut me down or give me a fatal error message. He waits patiently. He watches longingly. He prepares expectantly. 

            Just like my computer, faith works better when I put things in the right order. When I first look to God, I can count on his guidance and presence every step of the way. When I race ahead, I am apt to make life critical mistakes and only stop when I cannot forge forward any more on my own.

            I know some of you techies are dying to fix my computer for me and until you do you can’t imagine any meaningful spiritual lesson to be had! But before you offer the magic fix, please take a minute to check your soul connection. I’ve found I can live without my wireless. I don’t want to be a minute without God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:25 AM

    Reminds me of the DNA for Relationships model, without your uplink to God everything else is working in a vacuum.

Leave a Reply

